‘Journey all over the universe in a map…’

I am reading the books recommended by Arnold Bennett in his self-help guide Literary Taste: How To Form It, first published in 1909 and reissued in 1938. Can following a prescribed reading list from over a hundred years ago lead to forming a literary taste? A graph is normally included. This week, the Mindly application for the iPhone. 

Regular readers will know that I occasionally like to point out apps that might help throw new perspectives on novels and novelists. Or at least pass a happy hour when you know you should be working. The Mindly app meets both those requirements. It allows you to create mind maps on any subject, include images, build up sub-categories and impress your colleagues. It is, in a word, a stonker. Here’s one I made earlier:

Arnold Bennett mind map.

It is a work in progress, which is not to say I will go back and refine it. But, as someone averse to organising my thoughts in any way, it has made me think it might not be a bad idea. It allowed me, if nothing else, to see what it is that I regard as important in the life and work of Bennett. It also takes all the hard work out of the process, namely making it look neat. I do not know enough about the life and works of Virginia Woolf, but I would be intrigued to see a mind map with her name in the middle.

No graph is included only the assurance that books filled with facts are soon to be ordered.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. This month one of our reading groups is doing Arnold Bennett. I thought it was about time. Expect report in February. (Interestingly this was a very popular choice with the group – lots of happy murmurs of ‘oo! Arnold Bennett’ as I brought out the books. So his reputation lives on with a select audience!)

    Reply
    • I look forward to reading the report! Isn’t it interesting that his name still has a resonance with readers? It’s almost as if it’s been passed down by oral tradition.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

